

<u>Mailing Address:</u> c/o Macsata-Kornegay Group PO Box 15275 Washington, DC 20003

> Physical Address: 1724 Florida Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20009

### **Chief Executive Officer:**

William E. Arnold Phone: (202) 290-2019 Fax: (202) 506-6504 Email: <u>weaids@tiicann.org</u>

> Board of Directors: Kathie Hiers, Chair, Darnell Ferrell, Secretary Valerie Volpe, Treasurer

Holly Batterman, MD Hon. Donna Christensen, MD Michael Eging Edward "Eddie" Hamilton Jeffrey Lewis Maria Mejia Amy Niles Kimberly A. Williams

### Director Emeritus:

Jeff Coudriet (*in Memoriam*) Hon. Maurice Hinchey, MC (*in Memoriam*) Gary R. Rose, JD (*in Memoriam*)

## National Programs:

HIV/HCV Co-Infection Watch Medicaid Watch National ADAP Working Group Hepatitis, Education, Advocacy & Leadership

## Community Access National Network Names 2018 HIV Advocacy Scholarship Honorees

Inaugural Honorees include Eric Paulk of Georgia, Robert Skinner of Oregon, and Tez Anderson of California

WASHINGTON, DC (July 18, 2018) – The Community Access National Network, otherwise known as CANN, today named the inaugural honorees for its three advocacy scholarships. Named in memoriam after Thomas P. McCormick, Gary R. Rose, and the Honorable Maurice D. Hinchey, M.C, each of the advocacy scholarships focus on HIV/AIDS-related public policy issues.

- The Thomas P. McCormick Advocacy Scholarship was awarded to Eric Paul, HIV Policy Field Organizer for Georgia Equality. The scholarship is awarded annually to an advocate dedicated to improving access to care and treatment under Medicaid. Eric has been spearheading efforts in the Peach State to expand Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act, where up to 72% of Georgians living with HIV would qualify for Medicaid.
- The Gary R. Rose Advocacy Scholarship was awarded to Robert Skinner, President & CEO of the Valley AIDS Information Network. The scholarship is awarded annually to an advocate dedicated to improving access to care and treatment under the Ryan White CARE Act. As a long-term survivor, Bob leads HIV/AIDS advocacy, education, and mentorship activities in Oregon, where his organization reached over 3,000 individuals last year alone.
- The Honorable Maurice D. Hinchey Advocacy Scholarship was awarded to Tez Anderson, Executive Director & Founder of the Lets Kick <u>AIDS Survivor Syndrome</u>. The scholarship is awarded annually to an advocated dedicated to improving access to care and treatment under national and global health programs. Tez is an awardwinning advocate, writer, and speaker on HIV long-term survivors and HIV/aging issues, coining "AIDS Survivor Syndrome" to describe it in *TIME Magazine* for World AIDS Day 2017.

The advocacy scholarships will allow advocates to attend specific HIV/AIDS-related educational events.

To learn more about the advocacy scholarships, or sign-up to receive timely updates please visit <u>http://tiicann.org/signup\_listserv.html</u>.

Community Access National Network (CANN) www.tiicann.org

# Community Access National Network Names 2018 HIV Advocacy Scholarship Honorees

July 18, 2018 Page Two

For general information, please contact CANN at info@tiicann.org.

####

About the Community Access National Network: The mission of the Community Access National Network (CANN) is to define, promote, and improve access to healthcare services and supports for people living with HIV/AIDS and/or Viral Hepatitis through advocacy, education, and networking. These services must be affordable to the people who need them regardless of insurance status, income, or geographic location.